Posted by: moodymuse | January 6, 2008

Slackers Anonymous Version 2.1

I was going pretty strong toward my goals for several months. Some life changes hit, which is no excuse, and I slaked.  Now it’s time, as with any failed or half succeeded attempt at anything, to see what worked and what didn’t, tweak the method, and try it again.  

What worked :  having a list written in an unavoidable place of things that need to be done. This worked well on several levels. It kept me from putting things out of my mind when I wasn’t particularly in the mood to do them. Those tasks were so present that they stayed in my conscious mind, which would  then bug me, and get done. The result was that the house stayed cleaner, my life was less stressed, my diet was better, and I had more time to do things I enjoy.  Why it failed: I took the list down due to a visit from mom, so she wouldn’t think I had totally lost my mind. She has enough reason to think that now without giving her special ammunition. I never reprinted it as intended. The tweak: I’m going to put it on a big white board that also has a cork board in my bedroom with the list. 

A general life goal list also worked. As I have been known to say often, “eyes on the prize, feet on the path”.  Keeping goals and steps physically in front of me works, it’s just a matter of making sure they stay there.

Less computer time was also a winner.  If I limit my time on the net and games to a certain number of hours per day, I get more done. Go figure?  When the list went, so did the time management.

I love my pup, but having him in daycare at lest one day a week was good.  He’s 80 pounds of sweet, high energy puppy.  A change of pace seems to make him happy and keeps me sane too.  Since the daycare incident, that’s not an option. So, I think I’ll start either boarding him overnight or at least putting him in daycare at the vet once a week again. The trauma of his show of small dog aggression initially  put the kibosh on it, but he won’t have direct contact with other dogs at the vet. As a plus, several of the workers there have pit bulls and love him, so he gets lots of petting, treats, and playtime.   

 

This past year, I’ve begun to hone my painting skills and research the steps to creating a successful art business.  I’m starting to express myself more, although not always eloquently, to those close to me.  I’ve been more social, but still kept my hermit time.  In summary, I’ve made steps. They may not have been the great strides I’d like, but they’re steady and true.  It’s time to recalibrate and get back on task.

Reading back over this blog – it boils down to a simple statement. I forget stuff.  My life is generally free flowing. If I’m not reminded, I lose track of the path and wind up pursuing a bunny trail along the side.  While it’s great fun, it’s not conducive to achieving life goals


Leave a comment

Categories